25000 tyres fitted here

each year

Same day fitting available

book online

Tyre fitting

at a time that suits you

Search by Vehicle Registration

Search by Vehicle

Are you looking for MOT IV for your vehicle?

The Ministry of Transport launched the MOT test in 1960, a mandatory annual examination for your car during which various parts of your vehicle are inspected to ensure they are properly operating and roadworthy. For vehicles older than three years, passing the MOT test annually is a requirement.

Although the original purpose of this test was to evaluate vehicles older than ten years, but according to new MOT standards revised in 1967, vehicles older than three years must obtain a "VT20" or "PASS" MOT certificate.

Finding a centre for MOT?

If you're seeking a centre for the MOT Wimbledon, SAI MOT CENTRE is your go-to destination, serving its customers for over 25 years. SAI MOT CENTRE is a Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA)-approved centre to conduct MOT tests.

You are entitled to discounts if you choose Car servicing along with an MOT Test with us.

Classes of MOT test

Class 1 and 2: They are for motorcycles.

Class 3: For 3-wheelers less than 450kg without any load.

Class 4: It is for vehicles with nine to twelve passenger seats, including passenger cars, caravans, ambulance vehicles, and dual-purpose-vehicles. Goods vehicles less than 3000kg Design-Gross-Weight.

Class 5: Any type of vehicle with thirteen or more passenger seats, including private passenger cars, ambulances, motor caravans, and dual-purpose vehicles, comes under this class.

Class 6: It is for Public Service Vehicles.

Class 7 is for vehicles carrying goods weighing more than 3,000 kg and up to 3,500 kg DGW.

In our Test Centre, we perform MOTs for Class 4 and Class 7 Vehicles.

Checks performed during an MOT test

Here is the list of vehicle components that we check during the MOT test:

  • Bonnet
  • Tyres and wheels
  • Brakes
  • Exhaust system
  • Horn
  • Doors
  • Seats and Seatbelts
  • Steering and suspension
  • Windscreen and Wipers
  • Lights and Indicators
  • Battery
  • Other electric equipment and wiring
  • Structure and Body
  • Registration plates
  • We also carry out a separate Emission test


VT20: A VT20 certificate is provided to you if your vehicle passes the MOT Test without any issues or with only minor issues. If any small defects are found, you will receive an advisory notice to address the concerns and get them fixed.

VT30: If there are major or dangerous problems that compromise your overall driving safety, your vehicle will fail the test, and you will receive a VT30 certificate. After that, you are not permitted to operate the car on public roads. Before you can drive the vehicle again, all problems must be fixed, and a partial retest must be completed.

We hope you find this helpful. If you were looking for an authorised test centre offering MOT Wimbledon, your search ends here. Please sit back and relax; we are here to get you through the test.

Book your vehicle's test today online, via this website, over the phone or at the centre.

You can also combine the test with any of our other services.

whatsapp chat